Don’t be afraid to show people who you are…

“Don’t be afraid to show people who you are…” -those were the words of my high school homeroom teacher. She gave each graduating senior a piece of personalized advice and those were her words to me. I’ve thought of those words a lot over the past couple of years… those are the words that are the impetus for starting this blog.

Growing up, I was a very shy person but I had a very imaginative internal world. I was lucky enough to go to schools that nurtured my creativity and I am thankful for the teachers who pushed me to write my thoughts down and helped me refine my communications skills. Everyone has a preferred medium for communication and the written word is mine. I feel it is the way I can best express what I want to say and it gives me both ownership and authorship. It also gives me the opportunity to really flesh out what I am thinking.

I really appreciate having this platform to express my views and hope that this will spur on off-line conversations as well because I love talking to people one-on-one or in small groups. There is something to be said about being present and being in someone’s presence, looking into their eyes, listening and being heard.

I see life  as a string of moments and memories and I hope to capture them here…

-Char

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment